The Bell Rope

After a long period of maintenance on the hard, our boat Rita’s finally back in the water, yippee! We’re floating again. I haven’t had much time to bead but dealt a lot with ropes instead. We needed new sheets for our genua, a new sea bucket, new landlines etc. and all the ropes involved needed to be whipped, tied, spliced and organized in a proper way. Even our bell rope needed replacing.

Old Bell Rope Blog P1200678

The old one lasted for 10 years (thanks again Nan, your presents always seem to inspire me). Our boat’s an old one and has a bronze bell they used in the old days to announce the hours of the day. That kind of bell needs a proper bell rope. I couldn’t find any beginner tutorials on how to make one so I spent a couple of days tying knots and came to this result.

Bell Rope 2016 SeaBeads P1200657

I much prefer the old one but for a first attempt it’s not so bad. Does anyone know where I can find descriptions on how to make bell ropes?

This entry was posted in Rope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.