Rollin’ Stones Bracelet

Bracelet in ladder stitch. I fought with this one for a week. It looks so simple but I kept on making mistakes and had to pull out bits of it lots of times.

I found an elastic bracelet with stone disks on the beach. These stone beads were difficult to incorporate in my bracelet because of their irregular shapes. But I never give up so I finished it in the end.

Rollin' Stones bracelet

The clasp of this bracelet is magnificent. I found a picture of it on the internet. The first record of this type of clasp is from about 1000 BC. Isn’t that something! Lorena Babcock Moore wrote a tutorial on how to make this ancient clasp. Here’s the link: http://www.mineralarts.com/artwork/WireTutorials.html.

Rollin' Stones clasp

Lorena is a self-taught artist and metal smith. She was educated as a Geologist and Botanist. Her visual art is inspired by traditional scientific illustration. Thanks very much, Lorena, for teaching me!

This entry was posted in beaded bracelets, Beaded Jewelry, wire clasps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.